group of middle school aged girls on grass laughing together

About Health Services

  • School nursing is a specialized practice of professional nursing that advances the well-being, academic success, and life-long achievement of students. Newburyport Public School nurses are here to serve as liaisons between home and school and as a health resource for you and your child.

Contact Us

      About Health Services

      • Our nurses are registered professional school nurses who are also licensed as educators by the Department of Education.

        As key members of the educational team, nurses:

        • Evaluate and manage student health needs
        • Monitor and administer medications and medical procedures
        • Provide first aid and emergency care
        • Support students and families with accessing primary medical care and health insurance

        Please call your child’s nurse if your child has:

        • New medications or change in current medication
        • A new diagnosis or change in health status (including any serious illness, injury or hospitalization)
        • Changes within the family that may impact the student while in school

      Nursing Staff

      Name School Grade Phone Email
      Angela Casella, BSN, RN Newburyport High School Grades 11-12 978-465-4440 x 5012 acasella@newburyport.k12.ma.us
      Robin Emmerling, BSN, RN Newburyport High School Grades 9-10 978-465-4440 x 1151 remmerling@newburyport.k12.ma.us
      Nelson Lane, BSN, RN Francis T. Bresnahan Elementary School PreK to Grade 1 978-465-4435 x 3127 nlane@newburyport.k12.ma.us
      Rebecca Murphy, BSN, RN Newburyport High School IDC 978-465-1112 rmurphy@newburyport.k12.ma.us
      Michelle Rybicki, MSN, RN, NCSN Edward G. Molin Upper Elementary School Grades 4-5 978-463-8212 x 2495 mrybicki@newburyport.k12.ma.us
      Bridget Sheehan BSN, RN Rupert A. Nock Middle School Grades 6-8 978-465-4447 x 2695 bsheehan@newburyport.k12.ma.us
      Michelle Thivierge BSN, RN, NCSN Francis T. Bresnahan Elementary School Grades 2-3 978-465-4431 x 3939 mthivierge@newburyport.k12.ma.us