• Membership of the Newburyport School Committee consists of the Mayor, who serves as chair, and six members elected at-large for a term of four years. The School Committee traditionally meets the 1st & 3rd Mondays of each month, August through June (exceptions for holidays and/or vacation weeks).

    To email all School Committee members: sc@newburyport.k12.ma.us

Policy Sub Committee


    • Juliet Walker, Chair
    • Breanna Higgins
    • Kathleen Shaw

    The Policy Sub Committee, responsible for the development of policy as guides for administrative action, works with the Superintendent who will implement these policies. This sub committee evaluates the effectiveness of district policies and their implementation, reporting back to the School Committee.

Finance Sub Committee

    • Brian Callahan, Chair
    • Andrew Boger
    • Sarah Hall
    The Finance Sub Committee is responsible for informing the School Committee on the adoption of a budget that will enable the school system to carry out the Committee's policies.