NHS Guidance and Counseling Headline

Welcome NHS Students and Families!

  • The Guidance Team at Newburyport High School uses a holistic approach to student learning, health, and wellbeing. Our guidance counselors strive to enhance the academic and personal experience of our students by forming safe and authentic relationships.

    The Guidance Team provides a multitude of services and resources to assist students in developing plans for the future. The School Counseling Program is committed to focusing on the needs, interests, and issues related to student growth as well as the individual development in academic, career, and personal/social areas. By guiding and nurturing the whole student, we help build the skills necessary to be successful both academically and socially at NHS and beyond.

    In addition to our traditional school guidance counselors, a limited number of school adjustment counselors provide support for students who experience emotional distress that interferes with their ability to make progress in school or who are returning from therapeutic hospitalizations and require emotional support. School adjustment counselors provide psychological services as required for special education students in their IEPs, as well as individual counseling for general education students when referred by the school guidance counselor.

GUIDANCE COUNSELOR ASSIGNMENTS

  • Upon entering ninth grade, students are assigned to a school guidance counselor primarily using an alphabetical system. Some students are assigned to a school counselor outside of their alphabetical breakdown in order to keep family members together or to balance counselor caseloads. Students are assigned to the same school counselor for their four years of high school.

    To discuss a question or concern, or to schedule an appointment, students and families can contact their school counselor directly by phone or email.

Contact Us

First Name Last Name Position Phone Extension Email
Kourtney Adams School Adjustment Counselor, Therapeutic Learning Center (978) 465-4440 1235 kadams@newburyport.k12.ma.us
Kathleen Bohler Guidance Counselor (978) 465-4440 5023 kbohler@newburyport.k12.ma.us
Jaime Calisi School Adjustment Counselor, BRYT Program (978) 465-4440 1315 jcalisi@newburyport.k12.ma.us
Sara Cokonis Guidance Counselor (978) 465-4440 1316 scokonis@newburyport.k12.ma.us
Carly Fair School Adjustment Counselor (978) 465-4440 1150 cfair@newburyport.k12.ma.us
Christine Fitzgerald Guidance Counselor (978)465-4440 5027 cfitzgerald@newburyport.k12.ma.us
Lauren Gee Director of Guidance (978)465-4440 5025 lgee@newburyport.k12.ma.us
Jessica LeBlanc Administrative Assistant (978) 465-4440 5009 jleblanc@newburyport.k12.ma.us
Michael Nesson School Adjustment Counselor (978) 465-4440 5010 mnesson@newburyport.k12.ma.us
Alissa Nolan Guidance Counselor (978) 465-4440 5022 anolan@newburyport.k12.ma.us
Aaron Smith College and Career Counselor (978) 465-4440 1127 aribaudosmith@newburyport.k12.ma.us